History of Diplomatic Relations

The Kingdom of the Netherlands recognized the Republic of Estonia on 5 March 1921. After the Estonian restored independence the Netherlands (re-)recognized the Republic of Estonia on 2 September 1991. Diplomatic relations were restored on 21 September 1991.

It was complicated for the Cabinet of Ministers of the Kingdom in 1991 to recognize the restoration of independence of Estonia because the Netherlands had not made a reservation for the annexation of Estonia in 1942 while recognizing the Soviet Union (SU). This basically means that the Netherlands had recognized Estonia as part of the SU. The Netherlands (and Spain) were exceptional in that regard, because most of the European Community member states had had diplomatic relations with the SU already before the annexation of Estonia in 1940 – for which they had made a reservation in their relations with the SU. This issue has even been mentioned as an example of controversial state succession by a Dutch study book of international law in 2007 (Handboek Internationaal Recht).

A more detailed overview about the recognition of Estonia by the Kingdom of the Netherlands is available as a separate document: Recognition Baltic States by the Kingdom of NL

The Estonian Ambassador to the Netherlands is Lauri Kuusing who presented his credentials on October 13th, 2021. Previous Ambassador Kaili Terras served in the Hague during July 2017 – July 2021. The Ambassador of the Netherlands to Estonia is Özlem Canel, who presented her credentials on September 22nd, 2020.

Estonia has three acting honorary consuls in the Netherlands. Honorary Consul Nicolaas van de Griendt resides in Zwolle, Marcel van den Heuvel in Amsterdam, and Theodoor Willebrord (Wibo) Aris at the overseas territory (Antilles and Aruba) in Curaçao.

There is also a Dutch parliamentary group in the Estonian Parliament (Riigikogu).

The Netherlands represents Estonia on visa issues in six locations (Kenya, Jordan, Suriname, Oman, Aruba, Curacao) according to the bilateral agreement on visa representation for issuing Schengen visas that was concluded in 2008. Estonia represents the Netherlands in Pskov, Russia.

All Estonian Ambassadors to the Netherlands since 1921:
  • 1922 – Oskar Kallas (Estonian Ambassador to London) was also accredited as a non-resident Ambassador to the Netherlands
  • 1934 – Friedrich Akel (resided in Berlin)
  • 1936 – Karl Tofer (resided in Berlin)
  • 1940 – Rudolf Möllerson (resided in Berlin)
  • 1991 – Clyde Kull was co-accredited to the Benelux countries (resided in Brussels)
  • 1996 – Jüri Luik was co-accredited to the Netherlands (resided in Brussels)
  • 1997 – The Estonian Embassy in the Netherlands was opened, the first temporary charge d’affaires was Tõnis Idarand
  • 2000 – Andrus Normet (Chargé d’Affaires at the Estonian Embassy in The Hague)
  • 2002 – Priit Pallum (first resident ambassador to The Hague)
  • 2006 – Gita Kalmet
  • 2012 – Peep Jahilo
  • 2017 – Kaili Terras
  • 2021 – Lauri Kuusing
Gallery of Estonian Ambassadors to the Netherlands:
All Dutch Ambassadors to Estonia since 1921:
  • 1922 – Willem van Rappard (resided in Copenhagen)
  • 1937 – Chevalier H.W.G.M. Huyssen van Kattendyke (resided in Copenhagen)
  • 1939 – L.P.J. de Decker (resided in Riga)
  • 1991 – Egbert Frederik Jacobs (resided in Helsinki)
  • 1993 – Bartholomeus de Bruyn Ouboter (resided in Helsinki)
  • 1997 – Jacobus van der Velden (resided in Helsinki)
  • 2001 – Joanna van Vliet
  • 2005 – Hans Glaubitz
  • 2006 – Henk van der Zwan
  • 2010 – Maurits Jochems
  • 2013 – Jos Schellaars
  • 2016 – Karen van Stegeren
  • 2020 – Özlem Canel
Gallery of Dutch Ambassadors to Estonia: